Spring Thrive

Martha Silano

It’s 38 degrees   I’m writing in my car   on my iPhone   I had to pull over     the kind of day
you back into your parking spot        to face the lake     a diving bufflehead          the owner
 of Leschi Market got it        Steve the wine guy died        a raft of coots            on the radio
Spring Thrive         the last time spring arrived this early nationwide was 1896    
Puccini’s La Boheme premiered     The US Supreme Court upheld Plessy vs Ferguson
what tracked in from traveling   from bars   from bats     and this is the first time
we’ve been ordered six feet apart nationwide     a national gesture       and this is Venus
beside the moon    so close and far    it’s a nationwide first day of spring!    
8:50 in Seattle   9:50 in Denver  10:50 in Chicago  Cutting it close but making it
to the finish 11:50 in New York!   Spring Starts Today All Over America  
 a nation of floppy camellias    American Robins belting it out    vibrating on rooftops  
geese honking at dawn     did you see the crescent moon   Venus so close and far    I don’t think
I’ve seen anything like it     I heard gargling with saltwater can save you    is it on the streets    
I saw spit on the path   it’s in our music   our mucus   our saliva    oh hell that number   
like a Saturn V    song sparrows in the Indian plum    we wiped them out with smallpox   
you can give it to your dog   one dog in Singapore got it     a woman said a band played
outside her window   a woman said put on The Beach Boys Greatest Hits    have a dance party    
anyone can host     we are all hosts     hospes, hospit-    hospital    these increments of wow    
isn’t that what they call it   unfilterable    first person I knew      do you does anyone you know    
all of us       the flesh of God    the wafer      or is it a song    

 

Martha Silano

Martha Silano’s most recent collection is Gravity Assist (Saturnalia Books, 2019). She is also co-author, with Kelli Russell Agodon, of The Daily Poet: Day-by-Day Prompts for Your Writing Practice. Martha teaches at Bellevue College and Seattle’s Richard Hugo House. 

 

Author photo: Langdon Cook

Header image: Chad Peltola