Kurt Vonnegut Speculative Fiction Prize

Kurt Vonnegut Speculative Fiction Prize

The Vonnegut Prize is an annual fiction competition sponsored by North American Review. This award is intended to recognize the finest speculative fiction, which can include, but is not limited to, work influenced by the postmodern science-fiction of Kurt Vonnegut. We love Vonnegut’s dark humor, but please avoid mere imitation. We are enthusiastic about all work painted with speculative fiction’s broad brush: fairytale, magical realism, fabulism, the fantastic, horror, Afro-futurism, science fiction hard and soft, and everything in between. The winning entry will appear in the North American Review's annual summer fiction issue, and all finalists will be considered for publication.


2022 Contest Information

Open for submission: August 10, 2021
First Prize: $1,000
Deadline: November 1st, 2021 - Results will be announced at the beginning of January.
Judge: Brenda Peynado

All winners and finalists will be published in the Summer 2022 Issue. All entry fees include a copy of the Vonnegut issue.


Past winners